Hi :)

Hi.

(Did I really just start my blog with hi? Could I be any more cliché?)

(Did I really just start by blog with a meta comment about my first blog post? Could I be any more try hard?)

(Oh no I’m trapped in a meta loop HELP)

Sorry about that. So, hi.

The point of this blog is to facilitate me writing. About 6 months ago I got a new blog with a very intimidating URL and goals that were so high that my procrastination and perfectionism wouldn’t let me make a single post there. So the current plan is to avoid that mistake by just writing with absolutely no expectations. My goal is to write at least one post per day. I may have to resort to writing a “Can’t think of anything to write today, sorry, here are some links” type posts but hopefully not. It worked well for Eliezer Yudkowsky. And I know the content won’t be ANYWHERE NEAR AS GOOD as the sequences due to my lack of raw intelligence and vast reserve autodidactic knowledge. But hopefully it will still be productive on my end, by forcing me to write and actually produce content.

I’ve noticed then when I just try to work through things in my head often go in circles and repeat things that I already know and writing things down usually helps when I can force myself to do it. So hopefully by writing my thoughts out in blog form I can organize and develop my ideas and practice communicating them at the same time.

So what I’m saying is that this point of this blog is primarily to help me rather than you. It’s possible that you may gain value from reading it, but I just want to remind you that it is very very very far down on the list of best things you could be reading right now. Especially if you haven’t heard of Less Wrong.

So, other stuff you should know. On this blog I intend to talk about things that I’m interested in writing about, which based on what I am interested in reading about will include Philosophy, Politics, Economics, Sociology, Psychology, Self-improvement, Effective Altruism and from time to time personal experiences. There are other things I am interested in, such as music, but that I don’t want to communicate to people in the same way as the rest so hopefully I won’t make a blog posts about them. There is also one large thing that I spend a lot of time thinking about but that causes me anxiety and I feel that writing about it and hearing people discuss what I have written about it will make my anxiety about it much worse. But hopefully I will be able to talk about this more in the future.

That’s about it, this counts as my posts for today, so I will hopefully make a new post tomorrow. I am about to be very busy for the next two weeks so if I can make it through then with keeping to my schedule I should be able to making until at least next semesters exams, especially if I keep one or two as a reserve to post on days when I can find time.
Thanks for reading. Hopefully this helps.

Leave a Reply

